Follow nysurffilm on Twitter

Last Hope

Last Hope is a series of sixteen original short films compiled by Andrew Kidman (Glass Love/ Litmus) and Spunk Records. Andrew Kidman chose six of his favourite surfing filmmakers to create short films that were inspired by the sea. The filmmakers include Albert Falzon (Morning Of The Earth), Jon Frank (Litmus), Monty Webber, Michelle Lockwood (Kids) and American underground surf filmmakers Patrick Trefz (Thread) and Richard Kenvin (Hydrodynamica). Kidman also provides four special cuts of his own. The filmmakers created their short films to music by some of the greatest independent artists in the world right now. Some of the artists include Smog, Sufjan Stevens, Mogwai, My Morning Jacket, Dirty Three, Holly Throsby, Vetiver, Bonnie Prince Billy and The Brown Birds From Windy Hill. The quality of songs by these recording artists combined with the infinite beauty of the sea is something breathtaking to say the least. Add to this the unique style of each filmmaker, bringing to life with these wonderful songs what they are trying to articulate. The result is at times emotional, sometimes harrowing, thoughtful, funny and heartfelt. The viewer is left stunned by the vastness of the ocean and the depth of emotion in the music.

By: Andrew Kidman |  featuring LIVE soundtrack performance

Spunk Records

Leave a Reply